Kerala CM writes letter to 11 CMs, including Nitish over CAA

PATNA: Kerala chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Friday wrote letters to CMs of 11 states including Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar asking them to consider passing a resolution against the amended Citizenship Act. The new development came days after the Kerala Assembly recently passed a resolution seeking withdrawal of the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019, or the CAA, 2019.

Vijayan wrote to letters to Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath, Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Nitish Kumar of Bihar, where BJP is sharing power with Janata Dal (United).

States, which have the opinion that CAA should be repealed, can also consider similar steps so that it will be an eye-opener to the proponents of the CAA and the NRC,” Vijayan said in the letter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WhatsApp chat